A Man Who Inspires People

Lloyd Dennis

Lloyd Dennis Writes

Alexey Marti and Herlin Riley - A Prime Example Percussion Experience

September 17, 2016 - During the break Alexey Marti, "Doc" Julius Kimbrough, myself and Herlin Riley posed as Boo did the honors.

When master drummer Alexey Marti from Cuba comes together with our New Orleans master of the drum-set Herlin Riley in the environment created by Doc at the Prime Example, something wonderful and mind blowing happens. This was our second time hearing these guys embrace one another on stage. No one could sit still with all that rhythmic power coming from the stage. But then it got even better when the world renowned Saxophonist Victor Goins showed up and stayed for the second set. Click Here for a video sample of what we enjoyed.

Upcoming Music at The Prime Example

Prime Example Jazz Club
Julius E Kimbrough
1909 N Broad Av
N.O., La 70119
504-701-9007
This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
www.primeexamplejazz.com
www.wwoz.org

Tues. 9/20/16 8pm&10pm
Sidemen + 1 Jazz Quintet
Jam session all night

Wed. 9/21/16 7pm&9pm
Jesse McBride presents The Next Generation
Jam session @9pm

Thurs. 9/22/16 8pm&10pm
Drummer ADONIS ROSE Quintet

Tues. 9/27/16 8pm&10pm
Sidemen + 1 Jazz Quintet
Jam session all night

Wed. 9/28/16 7pm&9pm
Jesse McBride presents The Next Generation
Jam session @9pm

Thurs. 9/29/16 .8pm&10pm
Vocalist STEPHANIE JORDAN with QUARTET (Boo and I wouldn't miss this)

Tuesday 10/4/16 8pm&10pm
SIDEMEN +1 Jazz Quintet
Jam session all night

Wednesday 10/5/16 7pm&9pm
JESSE MCBRIDE presents the NEXT GENERATION
Jam session @9pm

Tuesday 10/11/16 8pm&10pm
Sidemen + 1 Jazz Quintet
Jam session all night

Wednesday 10/12/16 7pm&9pm
Jesse McBride presents the Next Generation
Jam session @9pm

Tuesday 10/18/16 8pm&10pm
Sidemen + 1 Jazz Quintet
Jam session all night

Wednesday 10/19/16 7pm&9pm
Jesse McBride presents the Next Generation
Jam session @9pm
********************
LATIN NIGHT @ the PRIME EXAMPLE
Presented by CubaNOLA & PRIME EXAMPLE

Thursday 10/20/16 8pm&10pm
Cuban vocalist MELVIS SANTA
*********************
Tuesday 10/25/16 8pm&10pm
Sidemen +1 Jazz Quintet
Jam session all night

Wednesday 10/26/16 7pm&9pm
Jesse McBride presents the Next Generation
Jam session @9pm

GERMAINE'S Kitchen
Hours: 5pm-2am
FULL MENU